Executive MBA in India: Programmes, Fees, Eligibility and How to Choose
Key takeaways
- Executive MBAs in India come in three formats: one-year full-time, two-year weekend or evening on campus, and two-year live-online with campus visits.
- Official fees run from about ₹2.6 lakh (FMS Delhi MBA Executive) to ₹42 lakh (IIT Bombay–WashU EMBA).
- Only one-year full-time programmes run placement processes; most keep-your-job EMBAs, including IIMK EPGP and IIML PGPWE, say plainly they don’t.
Every IIM now sells an executive MBA. The acronyms differ, the prices differ by a factor of fifteen, and a few of them are not technically MBAs at all.
Here is the whole market on one page: what an executive MBA (EMBA) in India actually is, which programmes matter, what they cost on the institutes’ own fee pages, which ones have placements, and how to pick one without wrecking your savings or your career.
An executive MBA in India is a management programme for working professionals, usually with 3 or more years of experience. It comes in three formats: a one-year full-time MBA (IIM Ahmedabad PGPX, ISB PGP), a two-year weekend or evening programme on campus (IIMB PGPEM, IIML PGPWE, FMS), or a two-year live-online programme with campus visits (IIM Kozhikode EPGP, IIM Visakhapatnam EMBA). Fees run from about ₹2.6 lakh to ₹42 lakh.
| Executive MBA at a glance | What the official pages say |
|---|---|
| Formats | One-year full-time residential; two-year weekend/evening on campus; two-year live online with campus modules |
| Duration | 12 months (ISB PGP, IIMA PGPX) to 2 years (most weekend and online programmes) |
| Fee range | About ₹2,60,000 for FMS Delhi MBA Executive (4 semesters × ₹65,075) to ₹42,00,000 for the IIT Bombay–Washington University EMBA |
| Minimum work experience | 2 years (ISB PGP) to 6 years (IIMB PGPEM) |
| Tests | GMAT/GRE for one-year programmes; CAT/GMAT/GRE or the institute’s own test for most part-time programmes; FMS and IIT Delhi use their own selection process |
| Intake | Mostly once a year (Jan–Apr starts); IIM Visakhapatnam takes two batches (May and December); SPJIMR PGEMP has five intakes |
| Credential | MBA degree for most IIM programmes; PGDM for SPJIMR’s Blended PGDM; ISB PGP is “not a degree programme” per ISB |
| Placements | Only the one-year full-time programmes run a placement process; most keep-your-job EMBAs say plainly that they don’t |
Four terms this site never mixes up
- 1-year full-time MBA: you quit your job and study on campus for about a year, with a placement process at the end. IIMA PGPX, ISB PGP, IIMB EPGP, IIMC MBAEx, IIML IPMX. See What Is One-Year MBA? Meaning and How It Works.
- Executive MBA (keep your job): a two-year MBA taught on weekends, evenings or in modules while you keep working. IIMB PGPEM, IIML PGPWE, IIM Indore PGPMX, FMS MBA Executive. See What Is Executive MBA? Meaning and How It Works.
- Online/blended MBA: a keep-your-job MBA taught mainly through live online classes, plus short campus modules. IIMK EPGP, IIMV EMBA, IIM Amritsar EMBA, IIMA Blended MBA.
- Executive certificate: a shorter programme that ends in a certificate, not a degree, even when an IIM’s name is on it. See What Is Executive Education and Certificate Programmes? Meaning and How It Works.
What Is an Executive MBA? EMBA Formats in India
An executive MBA is an MBA built around people who already have a job and a few years of experience. The class is older, the case discussions lean on what participants have actually run, and the timetable is designed so you either step away for a short, intense year or keep working through it.
In India the label covers three very different products. Treat them as three separate decisions, because the costs and the risks are not comparable.
1. One-year full-time MBA for experienced professionals
You quit, move to campus, and finish in roughly 12 months. Examples: IIM Ahmedabad MBA-PGPX, ISB PGP, IIM Calcutta MBAEx (formerly PGPEX), IIM Lucknow IPMX and IIM Bangalore EPGP. These programmes run placement processes and want GMAT or GRE scores. The real price is the fee plus a year of salary. The full list is in the one-year MBA in India guide.
2. Weekend or evening MBA on campus
You keep your job and attend classes in person on alternate weekends or weekday evenings for two years. Examples: IIM Bangalore PGPEM (Bengaluru), IIM Lucknow PGPWE (Noida), IIM Indore PGPMX (Mumbai), FMS Delhi MBA Executive (evenings) and the IIT Delhi Executive MBA (evenings from 6.15 PM). The catch is geography: you need to live near the campus, or be willing to commute there every fortnight. The weekend MBA hub and EMBA by city pages sort these by location.
3. Blended or online-live executive MBA
Live virtual classes on evenings and weekends, plus a few short campus modules. Examples: IIM Kozhikode EPGP, IIM Visakhapatnam EMBA, IIM Amritsar EMBA, IIM Ahmedabad’s Blended MBA in Business Analytics & AI, SPJIMR Blended PGDM and K J Somaiya’s MBA for Working Executives. This is the format that opened the IIM brand to people outside the metros. The IIM online and blended MBA hub breaks it down programme by programme, and the online executive MBA guide covers non-IIM options.
One distinction worth getting right early: a blended executive MBA from an IIM is not a distance or correspondence MBA. Classes are live, attendance counts, and most programmes require campus visits. If you searched for “executive MBA distance learning”, check whether the programme has live sessions or only recorded content before you pay. Do iim offer distance mba? answers that directly.
1-Year MBA vs EMBA vs Online MBA vs Certificate: Which Format?
Most bad decisions in this market start with comparing a one-year residential programme with a weekend EMBA as if they were the same product. They are not. Here are the four formats side by side, using the ranges from the official pages in this guide.
| Attribute | 1-year full-time MBA | Executive MBA (keep your job) | Online/blended MBA | Executive certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Keep your job? | No. You resign and study full-time on campus | Yes. Weekends, evenings or modules | Yes. Live online classes on evenings and weekends | Yes |
| Award | MBA (IIMA PGPX); PGP, “not a degree programme” (ISB); degree/diploma status pending (IIMC MBAEx, IIML IPMX) | MBA degree at the IIMs (IIML PGPWE: “the student gets an MBA degree”); MBA from University of Delhi (FMS); “PGEMP qualification” (SPJIMR) | MBA (IIMK, IIMV); two-year degree (IIMA Blended); PGDM (SPJIMR Blended) | Certificate or executive diploma, not an MBA |
| Placements | Yes. Placement process, with published reports (IIMA’s is audited) | Mostly no. IIML PGPWE: “NO”; SPJIMR PGEMP: “not a placement-oriented programme” | Mostly no. IIMK: “a formal placement assistance scheme is not part of this programme” | Not part of the offer |
| Fee range (official) | ₹26,00,000 (IIML IPMX) to ₹36,20,000 (IIMA PGPX); ISB ₹34,48,000 + GST | About ₹2,60,000 (FMS) to ₹42,00,000 (IIT Bombay–WashU) | ₹8,00,000 (SPJIMR Blended PGDM) to ₹21,00,000 (IIMA Blended MBA) | Varies by programme; not compared in this guide |
| Minimum work-ex | 2 years (ISB) to 5 years (IIMC) | 3 years (IIML PGPWE, IIT Delhi) to 6 years (IIMB PGPEM) | 3 years at most IIMs; “preferred, not mandatory” at SPJIMR Blended | Varies by programme |
| Campus time | Full-time residential, about 12 months | Alternate weekends (IIML: Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon), weekday evenings (FMS, IIT Delhi) or modules (SPJIMR PGEMP: 60 campus days) | Short modules: IIMK 3 × 6 days; IIM Amritsar 2 × 5 days a year; IIMV 30 in-campus hours a year | Often fully online; some include a short campus visit |
| Test | GMAT/GRE (IIMC: GMAT only) | CAT/GMAT/GRE or own test; FMS and IIT Delhi run their own process | CAT/GMAT/GRE or own test (EMAT at IIMK and IIMV) | Usually an application and interview; check each programme |
| Source + date | Institute fee, admission and FAQ pages listed under Sources | |||
Read the table by its first two rows. If you can’t leave your job, the first column is out, whatever its median salary. If you need a degree for a promotion rule or a government job, the last column is out. The EMBA vs certificate comparison goes deeper on that line.
IIM EMBA Comparison Table: Fees, Award, Placements, Campus Visits
Fees below are the total programme fee stated on each institute’s official page for the current or upcoming batch, unless marked. Hostel, immersion, travel and taxes are extra where noted. Where an institute has not published a current fee, or a page doesn’t address placements, the table says so rather than guessing. Every programme name links to its full review.
One-year full-time MBAs (PGPX, ISB PGP, IPMX, MBAEx)
| Programme | Award | Duration | Total fee ₹ (official) | Min work-ex | Test | Placement support | Campus visits | Source + date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIMA MBA-PGPX | MBA (official name: MBA-PGPX) | 1 year | ₹36,20,000 (single housing), 2027-28; excludes international immersion and utilities | 4 years | GMAT / GRE | Yes: placement process, IPRS-audited report | Residential | IIMA fee page and PGPX Finals 2026 report, Oct 2026 |
| ISB PGP (Hyderabad / Mohali) | PGP; ISB says it is “not a degree programme” | 12 months | ₹34,48,000 + GST, AY 2027-28 (indicative); plus ₹20,000 refundable deposit | 2 years (24 months) | GMAT / GRE | Yes: 1,117 job offers, Class of 2026 | Residential | ISB fee and programme pages, Oct 2026 |
| IIML IPMX (Noida) | Degree/diploma status pending with Ministry of Education | 1 year | ₹26,00,000, 2027-28; plus ₹20,000 caution money and ₹5,000 alumni fee | 4 years | GMAT / GRE | Yes: Career Development Services; Class of 2026 report published | Residential | IIML IPMX page and placement report, Oct 2026 |
| IIMC MBAEx (formerly PGPEX) | Degree/diploma status pending with Ministry of Education | 1 year | Not yet published for Batch 21 (2027-28) | 5 years | GMAT only | Yes: 82 availed placement, 19th batch | Residential | IIMC programme, admissions and placement pages, Oct 2026 |
Weekend and evening EMBAs on campus (PGPEM, PGPWE, PGPMX, FMS)
| Programme | Award | Format / duration | Total fee ₹ (official) | Min work-ex | Test | Placement support | Campus visits | Source + date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIMB PGPEM | MBA | Weekends, Bengaluru, 2 years | Current fee not verifiable on the official page | 6 years | CAT / GMAT / GRE / IIMB Test | Not stated on pages reviewed | Weekend classes on campus | IIMB PGPEM admission page, Oct 2026 |
| IIML PGPWE | MBA degree | Alternate weekends, Noida, 2 years | ₹11,00,000 tuition + taxes; international immersion extra at actual cost | 3 years | CAT / GMAT / GRE / GATE / own test | No (“NO”); Student Advisory Services instead | Every alternate weekend, Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon | IIML PGPWE page, Oct 2026 |
| IIM Indore PGPMX | MBA | Alternate weekends, Mumbai (Powai), 2 years | ₹17,60,000 (23rd batch; 25th-batch fee not yet published) | 5 years | CAT / GMAT / GRE / IIM Indore Aptitude Test | Not stated on pages reviewed | Alternate weekends at Powai | IIM Indore PGPMX page, 2027 notification and 23rd-batch brochure, Oct 2026 |
| FMS Delhi MBA Executive | MBA (University of Delhi) | Evenings, 2 years | About ₹65,075 per semester (4 semesters) | 5 years | No CAT/GMAT; FMS selection process | Not stated on pages reviewed | Evening classes on campus | FMS programme page and 2027-29 bulletin, Oct 2026 |
| IIT Delhi Executive MBA (DMS) | Degree | Evenings on campus, 2 years | ₹18,00,000 (2026-28) | 3 years | IIT Delhi written test + interview | Not stated on pages reviewed | Evenings from 6.15 PM | IIT Delhi DMS admission page, Oct 2026 |
| IIT Bombay–WashU EMBA (Mumbai) | Joint EMBA degree | 18 months | ₹42,00,000 (no additional GST) | Not stated on official page | Not stated on official page | Not stated on pages reviewed | 4-day sessions every month | WashU Olin EMBA Mumbai page, Oct 2026 |
| SPJIMR PGEMP (Mumbai) | PGEMP qualification (not a degree or PGDM) | Modular, 21 months | ₹10,45,000 + taxes (includes lodging and boarding) | 5 years | SPJIMR test or GMAC Executive Assessment | No: “not a placement-oriented programme” | 8 campus immersions, 60 days in total | SPJIMR PGEMP fee page and FAQ, Oct 2026 |
| K J Somaiya Executive MBA (Leadership & Transformation) | MBA | Weekends, 15 months | ₹15,00,000 | 6 years | Profile, SOP, interview | Not stated on pages reviewed | Weekend classes | K J Somaiya programme page, Oct 2026 |
Blended and online-live EMBAs (IIMK EPGP, IIMV EMBA, IIMA BPGP)
| Programme | Award | Format / duration | Total fee ₹ (official) | Min work-ex | Test | Placement support | Campus visits | Source + date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIMA Blended MBA (BPGP: BA & AI) | Two-year degree from IIMA | Live online, 2 years | ₹21,00,000, 2027-29 | 3 years (2 with a 4-year degree) | CAT / GMAT / GRE / IIMA test | No placement process listed in the brochure | 3 campus modules | IIMA BPGP brochures 2026-28 and 2027-29, Oct 2026 |
| IIMK EPGP (Interactive Learning) | MBA | Live classes at TimesPro classroom centres, 2 years | ₹16,75,000, EPGP-19 | 3 years | EMAT, or CAT / GMAT / GRE | No: “a formal placement assistance scheme is not part of this programme” | 3 modules × 6 days | IIMK registration page, admission policy and FAQ, Oct 2026 |
| IIM Amritsar EMBA | Executive MBA degree | Weekend live online, 2 years | ₹12,00,000 | 3 years | CAT / GMAT / GRE / GATE / IAAT | Limited: “on a case to case basis through our corporate partners” | FAQ: two 5-day visits a year (other official pages differ) | IIM Amritsar fee page, admission criteria and FAQ, Oct 2026 |
| IIMV EMBA | MBA | Weekend online sessions, 2 years | ₹11,90,000, Winter 2026-28 | 3 years | EMAT, or CAT / GMAT / GRE | Not stated on pages reviewed | 2 campus modules; 30 in-campus hours a year | IIMV fee, admissions and programme-details pages, Oct 2026 |
| SPJIMR Blended PGDM (Mumbai) | PGDM | Live online, 2 years | ₹8,00,000 | Preferred, not mandatory | CAT / XAT / CMAT / GMAT / SBAT | Not stated on pages reviewed | Campus immersions (count not stated) | SPJIMR Blended PGDM fee page, Oct 2026 |
| K J Somaiya MBA for Working Executives (MBA-WE) | MBA | Live online, 15 months | Not published on the official page | Not published | Not published | Not stated on pages reviewed | Not published | K J Somaiya programme page, Oct 2026 |

Two things jump out. First, the IIT executive MBA options sit at the extremes: IIT Delhi at ₹18 lakh for evening classes, the IIT Bombay–WashU joint programme at ₹42 lakh. Second, the “MBA” in the name is not always an MBA on paper. ISB says plainly that its PGP is not a degree, and both IIM Calcutta’s MBAEx and IIM Lucknow’s IPMX note on their own pages that degree versus diploma status depends on talks with the Ministry of Education. The EMBA degree type and alumni status guide tracks the award wording for every programme.
For head-to-head decisions, see EPGP vs PGPX, IIM EMBA vs ISB PGPpro and the full list of programme vs programme comparisons.
EMBA Fees in India: The Range by Format
Executive MBA fees fall into three bands, and the band tracks the format more than the brand.
| Fee band | Typical format | Examples (official fee) |
|---|---|---|
| Under ₹12 lakh | Online-live, modular or public-university evening | FMS MBA Executive (about ₹65,075/semester), SPJIMR Blended PGDM (₹8,00,000), SPJIMR PGEMP (₹10,45,000 + taxes), IIML PGPWE (₹11,00,000 tuition), IIMV EMBA (₹11,90,000) |
| ₹12–22 lakh | Blended IIM programmes and weekend MBAs | IIM Amritsar EMBA (₹12,00,000), K J Somaiya Executive MBA (₹15,00,000), IIMK EPGP (₹16,75,000), IIM Indore PGPMX (₹17,60,000, 23rd batch), IIT Delhi (₹18,00,000), IIMA Blended MBA (₹21,00,000) |
| ₹26 lakh and above | One-year full-time, international joint degrees | IIML IPMX (₹26,00,000), ISB PGP (₹34,48,000 + GST), IIMA PGPX (₹36,20,000), IIT Bombay–WashU (₹42,00,000) |
Read the small print on every fee page. IIMA’s PGPX fee excludes the international immersion and its travel. IIML’s PGPWE adds a mandatory international immersion billed at actual cost, which the institute puts at around ₹4.5 lakh. Blended programmes usually leave out travel and stay for campus modules; IIMK’s fee excludes travel and accommodation for its three campus visits. Full instalment schedules and add-ons are in the executive MBA fees guide, funding options in EMBA scholarships, loans and EMI, and you can track fees side by side in the executive MBA fee comparison sheet.
EMBA Eligibility: Work-Ex, Marks and Tests
The common thread is a bachelor’s degree plus full-time work experience after graduation. The details vary more than most people expect. Programme-by-programme cut-offs are in executive MBA eligibility.
- Work experience is counted after graduation, usually up to a fixed cut-off date (31 March 2027 for most 2027 intakes). IIM Kozhikode counts it in days: 1,095 days, or three full years.
- The minimum ranges from 2 to 6 years. ISB PGP asks for 24 months; IIMA PGPX and IIML IPMX ask for 4 years; IIM Calcutta MBAEx, IIM Indore PGPMX, FMS and SPJIMR PGEMP ask for 5; IIM Bangalore PGPEM asks for 6.
- Academic cut-offs exist. Typically 50% in graduation (IIMA Blended, IIMK, IIMV, IIM Indore, IIMB PGPEM). IIM Calcutta MBAEx wants 60% in Class X, XII and graduation. IIT Delhi wants 60%. FMS accepts 45%.
- Employer paperwork for some. FMS asks for a No Objection Certificate from your employer. SPJIMR PGEMP requires continuous full-time employment and an employer NOC or sponsorship letter.
- Test-centre scores only for GMAT/GRE at IIMA PGPX, IIML, IIMC and IIMB; at-home online scores are rejected.
A minimum is a floor, not a target. One-year programmes in particular admit candidates whose experience sits well above the stated minimum, which is why the next table matters more than the eligibility line.
Which EMBA for My Experience? 3–5, 6–10, 10–15 and 15+ Years
The useful question is not “am I eligible?” but “will I sit in a class of people at my level?” This table places programmes by their published batch average, not their minimum. We include a programme only where the institute (or the official test body) publishes a class profile. Where no verified average exists for a band, we say so.
| Experience band | Programmes whose batch average fits | Published batch figure | Notes | Source + date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3–5 years | ISB PGP | Class of 2026: 826 students, about 4 years’ average work experience (range 2–17) | The only one-year programme with a batch average in this band. Blended IIMs accept you from 3 years, but none publishes a batch average this low | GMAC ISB class profile, Oct 2026 |
| 6–10 years | IIMA PGPX, IIMK EPGP, IIMA Blended MBA | PGPX 2026–27: 160 participants, average 7 years 6 months. IIMK EPGP-18: average 8+ years, 29% women. IIMA BPGP: average 8–9 years, average age 32, 138 per batch | The busiest band. Choose on format: quit for a year (PGPX) or keep the job (EPGP, BPGP) | IIMA PGPX batch release; IIMK EPGP registration page; IIMA BPGP 2026-28 brochure; Oct 2026 |
| 10–15 years | No programme in this guide publishes a batch average in this band | – | IIMK EPGP (“8+ years”) and IIMA BPGP (8–9 years) sit at the lower edge. IIMB PGPEM’s 6-year minimum is the highest floor among the IIM programmes here | Institute pages, Oct 2026 |
| 15+ years | No verified batch average in this guide | – | Look at senior-management programmes and premium modular EMBAs, and ask the institute for its class profile before applying | – |
Profile-specific shortlists are on EMBA for 2–5 years’ experience, EMBA for mid-career managers and EMBA for senior leaders. Engineers should read EMBA for engineers and IT professionals; everyone else can start from EMBA by profile.
EMBA Admission Process: CAT, GMAT, EMAT and Interviews
Most programmes follow the same four steps: application, test score, a written component, then an interview. Dates for each programme are in EMBA admission process and deadlines.
- Test. One-year programmes want GMAT or GRE (IIM Calcutta takes GMAT only). Part-time and blended IIMs accept CAT, GMAT or GRE, and most run their own test as a fallback: IIMK and IIMV call theirs EMAT, IIM Amritsar has IAAT, IIMA has a dedicated admission test for its Blended MBA, IIMB has the IIMB Test and IIM Indore its Aptitude Test. Score expectations are in EMBA entrance test and score.
- Written ability test or essays. IIMB PGPEM, IIML PGPWE and IPMX, and IIM Calcutta MBAEx all include a writing test.
- Interview. Universal. FMS goes furthest: a 100-mark process covering Class 12 marks, graduation, a discussion on your executive experience, an extempore, a business-affairs discussion and a personal interview.
- Weighted score. Some institutes publish the formula. IIM Calcutta MBAEx: GMAT 25%, interview 30%, WAT 15%, work experience 15%, academics 10%, diversity 5%. IIM Visakhapatnam: EMAT 47.5%, interview 47.5%, gender diversity 5%.
Deadlines for 2027 intakes are already running. IIMA’s Blended MBA has its Round 2 application deadline on 20 December 2026; IIM Indore PGPMX closes applications on 30 November 2026. Log yours in the application tracker sheet. New to the IIM route? How to do executive mba from iim? walks through it.
EMBA Placements: Which Programmes Have Them?
Only the one-year full-time programmes run a placement process comparable to a regular MBA, and the better ones publish reports. These are the latest official numbers.
| Programme | Batch | Median | Average | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIMA PGPX | Finals 2026 | ₹32,16,250 fixed yearly cash (domestic) | ₹33,63,914 fixed yearly cash | 139 sought placement, 134 accepted offers; total guaranteed cash median ₹34,87,600 |
| ISB PGP | Class of 2026 | Not published | ₹37.29 lakh p.a. | 1,117 job offers; highest ₹1.56 crore p.a. |
| IIMC MBAEx | 19th batch | ₹35.0 lakh | ₹34.09 lakh | 82 availed placement, 90 offers; highest ₹54.8 lakh |
| IIML IPMX | Class of 2026 | ₹27.00 lakh | ₹27.65 lakh | 108 sought employment, 92 campus offers, 8 without employment (as of 15 April 2026) |
Two caveats. These are post-programme salaries, not hikes; a PGPX graduate who earned ₹30 lakh before joining has gained far less than the median suggests. And a few students in every batch end the process without a job: 5 unplaced out of 139 at PGPX 2026, 8 at IPMX. A single high offer also says little about the batch, which is why the median column matters more than the headline.
Placement support in keep-your-job EMBAs, in the institutes’ own words
| Programme | Placement support (Y/N) | Official wording | What is offered instead | Source + date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIMK EPGP | No | “a formal placement assistance scheme is not part of this programme” | IIMK alumni status on completion; free AMBA membership for participants and alumni | IIMK EPGP FAQ, Oct 2026 |
| IIML PGPWE | No | “Does the Institute offer placement services?” “NO.” | “The Student Advisory Services helps prepare candidates to meet career goals”; alumni status as bonafide students | IIML PGPWE page, Oct 2026 |
| SPJIMR PGEMP | No | “PGEMP is not a placement-oriented programme” | “full SPJIMR alumni status” | SPJIMR PGEMP FAQ, Oct 2026 |
| IIM Amritsar EMBA | Limited | “limited placement assistance on a case to case basis through our corporate partners” | IIM Amritsar alumni status “after successful completion” | IIM Amritsar EMBA FAQ, Oct 2026 |
| IIMA Blended MBA | No | No placement process listed in the brochure | Two-year degree from IIMA | IIMA BPGP 2026-28 brochure, Oct 2026 |
| IIMB PGPEM, IIMV EMBA, IIM Indore PGPMX, FMS, IIT Delhi | Not stated | The pages we reviewed don’t address placements | Ask the admissions office in writing before you pay | Institute pages, Oct 2026 |
Weekend and online executive MBAs are a different bargain. You keep your job, so the payoff is a promotion, a role change inside your company, or a move you engineer yourself. Do not assume a placement process unless the programme page spells one out. Programme-level salary data, where it exists, is in executive MBA placements and salary.
Executive MBA Worth It? Five Worries Answered
The same five questions decide most EMBA applications. Here are straight answers from the institutes’ own rules and data.
Does an executive or online MBA count like the full-time MBA?
On paper, at the IIMs, often yes: IIMK’s EPGP and IIMV’s EMBA award an MBA, IIML’s PGPWE page says “the student gets an MBA degree”, and IIMA’s Blended programme is a two-year degree. What differs is the transcript, not the title. Your CV will name the programme (EPGP, PGPWE, Blended MBA), and a recruiter who knows the market will read it as a keep-your-job MBA, not as PGPX or the two-year PGP. That matters most if you plan to apply for roles that recruit from campus placements. For a promotion inside your company, or a government or PSU rule that asks for “an MBA”, the degree is what counts. See EMBA vs regular MBA and IIM online MBA vs UGC-approved online MBA.
Degree, diploma or certificate?
Read the award line, not the marketing. In this guide alone you will find an MBA (IIMK, IIMV, IIML PGPWE), a PGDM (SPJIMR Blended), a “PGEMP qualification” (SPJIMR PGEMP), a “not a degree programme” PGP (ISB), and two one-year programmes whose status is pending with the Ministry (IIMC MBAEx, IIML IPMX). An IIM-branded executive certificate sold through an edtech platform is a certificate, whatever the course page calls it. Alumni status also comes with conditions: IIMK grants it on completion, IIM Amritsar “after successful completion of the program”. The EMBA vs PGDM page explains why the label matters.
₹12–25 lakh with no placements: is that worth paying?
Only if the programme moves something you can name: a promotion band that requires an MBA, a manager role your company fills from inside, or a network in an industry you already work in. If the honest answer is “I want a new job in a new sector”, a keep-your-job EMBA leaves that search to you. Price the fee in months of your salary (the ROI section below does this), and see is an executive MBA worth it for the programme-by-programme view.
Can I switch domain or function with an EMBA?
Within your company, often. Across companies and industries, it is much harder without a placement process. IIMK’s own FAQ says the EPGP is “meant for those executives in their middle / senior management positions” who want to grow in their current roles. If a switch is the goal, the one-year programmes are built for it, which is why they cost the year of salary. A narrower move, say from engineering into product, is easier from inside. See programmes for product managers.
How much time does an EMBA really take?
Put it in hours before you sign up. IIMK EPGP’s year-one weekend format runs Saturday and Sunday, 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM, at a TimesPro classroom centre (TimesPro runs the centres; IIMK faculty teach live from the Kozhikode studio). That is 12 hours a week of class before reading, plus three six-day campus modules. IIMV’s year-two weekends run 9:00 AM to 9:15 PM, with up to 5–6 sessions a day and 330–350 online hours a year. IIML PGPWE takes every alternate weekend from Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon. SPJIMR PGEMP needs 60 campus days over 21 months. Compare schedules in EMBA duration, class schedule and campus visits.
EMBA ROI: A Worked Example
Three illustrative cases. Assumptions: salaries are pre-tax fixed CTC; the “without MBA” salary is held flat to keep the arithmetic readable (in reality it would grow, which makes the MBA look worse); no loan interest; hikes for the part-time cases are assumptions, not institute data. The PGPX post-MBA salary is the official 2026 median.
| Item | IIMV EMBA (keep job) | IIMK EPGP (keep job) | IIMA PGPX (quit for a year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Current CTC (assumed) | ₹12,00,000 | ₹18,00,000 | ₹22,00,000 |
| Programme fee (official) | ₹11,90,000 | ₹16,87,000 (₹16,75,000 + ₹12,000 welfare and alumni fees) | ₹36,20,000 |
| Fee as months of current salary | 11,90,000 ÷ 1,00,000 = 11.9 months | 16,87,000 ÷ 1,50,000 = 11.2 months | 36,20,000 ÷ 1,83,333 = 19.7 months |
| Salary given up | ₹0 | ₹0 | ₹22,00,000 |
| Total cost | ₹11,90,000 | ₹16,87,000 | ₹58,20,000 |
| Post-MBA CTC | ₹15,00,000 (assumed 25% hike) | ₹22,50,000 (assumed 25% hike) | ₹32,16,250 (official median) |
| Annual gain | ₹3,00,000 | ₹4,50,000 | ₹10,16,250 |
| Payback | 11,90,000 ÷ 3,00,000 = 3.97 years ≈ 48 months | 16,87,000 ÷ 4,50,000 = 3.75 years = 45 months | 58,20,000 ÷ 10,16,250 = 5.73 years ≈ 69 months |
| 5-year net gain | (3,00,000 × 5) − 11,90,000 = ₹3,10,000 | (4,50,000 × 5) − 16,87,000 = ₹5,63,000 | (10,16,250 × 5) − 58,20,000 = −₹7,38,750 |
The PGPX column is not a verdict on PGPX. It shows that a one-year MBA pays off through a career jump (a new function, industry or level), not through the first salary alone. If your pre-MBA CTC is already close to the programme’s median, the numbers will not work unless the role changes. Plug in your own figures with the executive MBA ROI calculator sheet, or grab all three sheets from the free executive MBA tools page.
How to Choose an Executive MBA
| Your situation | Format that fits | Programmes to shortlist | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Can’t leave your job, live outside a metro with an IIM | Blended / online-live | IIMK EPGP, IIMV EMBA, IIM Amritsar EMBA, IIMA Blended MBA (BA & AI) | Campus-module travel and leave; IIMK classes run from TimesPro classroom centres, not your sofa |
| Can’t leave your job, live in Bengaluru, Delhi NCR or Mumbai | Weekend / evening on campus | IIMB PGPEM, IIML PGPWE, FMS MBA Executive, IIT Delhi EMBA, IIM Indore PGPMX, SPJIMR PGEMP | Two years of lost weekends; check the commute before you check the ranking |
| Want a career switch (function or industry) | One-year full-time | IIMA PGPX, ISB PGP, IIMC MBAEx, IIML IPMX | Salary forgone; 4–5 years minimum experience at most IIMs |
| Senior leader, 10+ years, company may sponsor | Modular or premium weekend | IIT Bombay–WashU EMBA, IIMB PGPEM, SPJIMR PGEMP, K J Somaiya Executive MBA (Leadership & Transformation) | Bond or service clauses if your employer pays |
| Tight budget | Public university evening or modular | FMS MBA Executive, SPJIMR Blended PGDM, SPJIMR PGEMP, IIML PGPWE, IIMV EMBA | FMS seats are limited (200) and the process is competitive; the SPJIMR Blended PGDM is a diploma, not an MBA |
Still weighing the format question itself? The MBA for working professionals hub covers options beyond the IIMs, the MMS guide covers IIM Indore’s online MMS, and EMBA specialisations helps if you already know your function.
The Desk’s take
Apply to a one-year programme only if you want to change what you do, not just what you earn, and only if your current salary sits well below the programme’s median. Otherwise the year off costs more than the badge is worth.
Apply to a blended IIM programme if the brand matters in your industry, your employer won’t release you, and you can protect 15–20 hours a week for two years. For many working professionals in India, IIMV’s ₹11.9 lakh and IIMK’s ₹16.75 lakh buy the same three letters as programmes costing twice as much.
Skip any programme whose degree status you have not checked. ISB’s PGP is not a degree, and IIMC’s and IIML’s one-year programmes say their status is still pending. That matters little to most recruiters and a great deal to government jobs and some overseas credential checks.
Skip a keep-your-job EMBA if your plan depends on a placement process. IIMK, IIML PGPWE and SPJIMR PGEMP all say in writing that they don’t run one.
The catch nobody mentions: the fee on the page is rarely the fee you pay. Immersions, campus travel, hostel and GST can add several lakh, and on weekend programmes the hidden cost is two years of Saturdays.
Explore Executive MBA Topics
- One-year MBA in India – PGPX, ISB PGP, MBAEx, IPMX and EPGP compared
- IIM online and blended MBA – live-online IIM programmes in detail
- Part-time and weekend MBA in India – on-campus options by city
- MBA for working professionals – weekend, evening and online options
- Online executive MBA in India – IIT, private and university online EMBAs
- EPGP and executive PGDM – diploma-track programmes
- Executive certificates in India – when a certificate is enough
- Best executive MBA programmes in India – the ranked shortlist
Executive MBA FAQs
Why are executive MBA programs so expensive?
Part of it is what the fee covers: senior faculty, residential campus modules, and in many cases international immersions. Much of it is extra, though; IIMA’s PGPX fee excludes the immersion, and IIML’s PGPWE adds one at roughly ₹4.5 lakh. Institutes also price for a market of mid-career earners and employer sponsorships, which is why one-year programmes run ₹26–36 lakh while the blended IIMs cost ₹12–21 lakh.
Why do executive MBA programs exist?
Because a two-year full-time MBA does not fit someone with 5–15 years of experience, a salary and often a family. Executive programmes let you keep earning (weekend and blended formats) or compress the degree into one year (PGPX, ISB PGP). The class is also older, so you learn from peers who have run teams and budgets.
Does an executive MBA from an IIM have placements?
Mostly no. The one-year full-time programmes (IIMA PGPX, IIMC MBAEx, IIML IPMX, and ISB’s PGP) run placement processes. Keep-your-job programmes generally don’t: IIMK says “a formal placement assistance scheme is not part of this programme”, IIML’s PGPWE answers “NO”, and IIM Amritsar offers only “limited placement assistance on a case to case basis”.
Does TISS offer an executive MBA?
No. TISS does not list an executive MBA. For working professionals it offers executive postgraduate diplomas, including Human Resources Management, Hospital Administration, and Organisation Development, Change and Leadership.
Can an executive MBA be done online?
Yes. IIM Kozhikode EPGP, IIM Visakhapatnam EMBA, IIM Amritsar EMBA, IIM Ahmedabad’s Blended MBA in Business Analytics & AI and K J Somaiya’s MBA for Working Executives all teach mostly through live online classes. Most still require short campus modules, and IIMK’s sessions run from TimesPro classroom centres. None of them are recorded-video distance courses.
Is an executive MBA the same as a PGDM?
Not necessarily. Most IIM executive programmes now award an MBA degree under the IIM Act 2017. Private autonomous institutes award a PGDM; SPJIMR’s Blended PGDM is one example. SPJIMR’s PGEMP awards neither: it is a “PGEMP qualification” that SPJIMR describes as equivalent to an executive MBA.
Is an online MBA the same as an executive MBA?
No. An executive MBA is defined by its audience: experienced professionals, with a work-experience minimum, usually 3 years or more. An online MBA is defined by delivery and often has no experience requirement at all. Some programmes are both (IIMK EPGP, IIMV EMBA), but a UGC-approved online MBA from a university is a different product from a blended IIM executive MBA.
Keep reading
- IIMK EPGP: fees, format and campus modules
- IIMA PGPX: admission, fee and the 2026 placement report
- Executive MBA fees, programme by programme
- Executive MBA vs one-year MBA
- Which IIM is best for an MBA?
- Free EMBA ROI calculator and application tracker
Last updated: 29 October 2026







I have just 3 years of work experience. Am I too early for an executive MBA?
You are eligible for most keep-your-job programmes, but you would be among the most junior people in the room. The blended IIMs (IIMK EPGP, IIMV EMBA, IIM Amritsar EMBA), IIML PGPWE and IIT Delhi all set a 3-year minimum, and IIMK counts it strictly: 1,095 days after graduation. The batch averages sit much higher, though: 8+ years at IIMK EPGP-18, 8–9 years at IIMA’s Blended MBA and 7 years 6 months at PGPX. ISB PGP is the only programme in this guide whose class average (about 4 years) fits your band. If you want peers at your level, apply in a year or two, or look at ISB.
Can I get into an IIM executive MBA without a CAT score?
Yes. CAT is only one of several routes. The one-year full-time programmes want GMAT or GRE instead (IIM Calcutta MBAEx takes GMAT only). The part-time and blended IIMs accept CAT, GMAT or GRE, and most also run their own test: EMAT at IIMK and IIMV, IAAT at IIM Amritsar, a dedicated admission test for IIMA’s Blended MBA, the IIMB Test and IIM Indore’s Aptitude Test. FMS and IIT Delhi skip national tests and run their own selection process. For GMAT or GRE, IIMA PGPX, IIML, IIMC and IIMB accept test-centre scores only, not at-home online ones.
Which IIM is best for an executive MBA if I can’t leave my job?
Start with where you live, not the ranking. If you are outside a metro with an IIM, the blended programmes are the realistic choice: IIMK EPGP (₹16,75,000), IIMV EMBA (₹11,90,000), IIM Amritsar EMBA (₹12,00,000) or IIMA’s Blended MBA in Business Analytics & AI (₹21,00,000). Note that IIMK’s classes run from TimesPro classroom centres, not your home. If you live in Bengaluru, Delhi NCR or Mumbai, the weekend programmes open up: IIMB PGPEM, IIML PGPWE and IIM Indore PGPMX at Powai. Then check two lines on each official page, the award and the placement wording, before you compare brands.
I’m 38 with 15 years of experience. Is an executive MBA still worth doing at my stage?
It can be, but pick the format for your level. No programme in this guide publishes a batch average at 15+ years, so ask each institute for its class profile before you apply; you learn most from peers who have run teams and budgets like you. The one-year programmes rarely make sense here, because their latest medians (₹27–35 lakh) may be close to or below what you earn. Look instead at premium modular or weekend options such as the IIT Bombay–WashU EMBA, IIMB PGPEM, SPJIMR PGEMP or K J Somaiya’s Executive MBA. If your employer sponsors you, read the bond or service clause first.
Is an executive MBA a 1-year or a 2-year programme?
Both exist, and they are different products. The keep-your-job executive MBAs mostly run for two years: IIMK EPGP, IIMV EMBA, IIM Amritsar EMBA, IIML PGPWE, IIMB PGPEM and FMS all take two years. A few are shorter: SPJIMR PGEMP runs 21 months, the IIT Bombay–WashU EMBA 18 months and K J Somaiya’s Executive MBA 15 months. The 12-month programmes (IIMA PGPX, ISB PGP, IIML IPMX, IIMC MBAEx, IIMB EPGP) are one-year full-time MBAs. You quit your job, live on campus and go through a placement process, so the real cost includes a year of salary.
Do I need my employer’s permission or an NOC to apply for an executive MBA?
For some programmes, yes. FMS Delhi asks for a No Objection Certificate from your employer for its MBA Executive. SPJIMR’s PGEMP requires continuous full-time employment and an employer NOC or a sponsorship letter. Most blended IIM programmes ask only for post-graduation work experience, but you still need your manager on side in practice. IIMK’s three six-day campus modules and IIM Amritsar’s two 5-day visits a year run on weekdays, and that leave usually comes out of your annual quota. Talk to your manager before you apply, not after the offer letter arrives.
Is an IIM executive MBA online or offline?
It depends on the format, and the label alone won’t tell you. Weekend and evening programmes are offline, in person on campus: IIMB PGPEM, IIML PGPWE (alternate weekends, Friday afternoon to Sunday afternoon), FMS and IIT Delhi (evenings from 6.15 PM). Blended programmes teach through live online classes plus short campus modules: IIMV, IIM Amritsar and IIMA’s Blended MBA. IIMK’s EPGP is a hybrid of its own: classes are live, but you attend them at a TimesPro classroom centre, plus three campus modules at Kozhikode. None of these is a recorded-video distance course. Classes are live and attendance counts.